My favorite

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person?

I would love to say it is the time I’ve spent with me, but, that might be wrong. Firstly, because sometimes I think I like myself the most :P, and secondly, which is also the more important reason, is because I feel we spend most of our time with strangers or in some cases, with acquaintances. I realize I am talking of a collective group here and not of a single person.

You see them in the train, on the road and even at the workplace. In fact, there are a few people who I come across every day, but haven’t talked even once. We just cross our paths doing our own thing. The colleague who sits beside you, the taxi driver who comes to pick you up every now and then, the chai-wala (tea vendor) you visit almost every day, the strangers who travel the same path as yours, at the same time while commuting to workplace, the security guard of your building, the guy who cleans your classroom desk or the girl who cuts your hair every time you visit your favorite salon.

Do you know all of them, or even one of them?

Some talk too loud, some are always listening to music, some are busy wondering, and some even pass a random smile walking down the road. 🙂 I like to observe them all, and think of how their lives would be, how different or how similar to mine, without a direct comparison between the two, without a judgment. But I may never find out how accurate or baseless my observations could be, simply because we may never interact. Yet, I feel comfortable around them, like it’s a family. May be it is.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/postaday/ebook-365-writing-prompts/

Published by

Swati Saxena

Ex-accountant. Now traveling, reading, writing and working in Rural India. Love paper crafts. Can walk miles for great coffee!

Leave a Reply

