Reputation – Mine just degraded as a blogger!

Oh, so I was supposed to write about reputations, as a part of a writing challenge. After much thought, I came to a conclusion that I will not really be able to write something readable since I have a lot going on, in my mind. My head is too messy to think in just one direction.

Proceed only if you can make sense out of chaos.

Firstly, I tried to connect the deception that goes with looks and sometimes with reputations. Failed!

Then, I tried to think if some people don’t really care about their repute or they are just lying. Because I had been there when I thought I don’t give a damn until someone called me a bitch. 😛

I also tried to brainstorm and connect the ideas that go into forming an image of a person/place, and came up with these words – actions, perceptions, interpretations, gossip, facts, good, bad, ugly.

I even thought of writing rhyming lines about it that went something like this:

Do you have a reputation…
Of a nerd working for a corporation

Or you have a distinguished status…
Of a spoilt brat in your college campus

Do you try too hard…
To stand out as a trump card

Do you dress up vibrantly…
To be judged by others silently

Or you act like a critic…
Of hotels, movies and politics

LOL. See, I lost track again.

Then I thought what different images I have. I guess it is same with all of us. Here are a few broad categories – At home, at workplace, online, with friends. Let me know if you can think of more.

We are always ready to tag others the moment we see them. It speaks more about you than them. I guess reputation comes from the kind of activities you do, over a period of time, not by how you look or dress up.

I don’t care about what strangers think of me, a bit about how I come across to my acquaintances and a lot about what close ones think of me. So the concern is directly proportional to the fondness towards someone, you see. 😛

Lastly, I would like to explain the title. According to me, this is the worst piece I ever wrote, and that’s why the headline.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/daily-prompt-you/

Published by

Swati

Ex-accountant. Now traveling, reading, writing and working in Rural India. Love paper crafts. Can walk miles for great coffee!

4 thoughts on “Reputation – Mine just degraded as a blogger!”

Leave a Reply

